in #CASE you missed it… Trick-Or-Treaters Over 12 Could Face Jail Time
Halloween is just weeks away and kids across the country are getting their costumes ready so they can go collect candy, but one Virginia town has some serious rules about trick-or-treating. In Chesapeake, kids over 12 are not allowed to participate in the holiday tradition. And if they do? They could be slapped with fines or face jail time!
Apparently, the town has had the ordinance on the books for a few years now and someone recently shared a screenshot of the harsh rules on Facebook, where it’s gone viral because it’s just so unbelievable. It explains that if anyone over 12 engages in trick-or-treating or any similar activity, “he or she shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than $25.00 nor more than $100.00 or by confinement in jail for not more than six months or both.”
And that’s not the only wacky rule. Chesapeake, Virginia also only allows trick-or-treating between the hours of 6pm and 8pm and anyone who tries to collect candy after that cut-off time could be in trouble. So if a couple of sixth-graders who are hopped up on a sugar high while out trick-or-treating lose track of time and knock on the door of a cranky neighbor at 8:15, they could potentially be charged with a misdemeanor. Seriously?!
To be fair, Chesapeake isn’t the only city to pass ordinances like these, there are a few other towns in Virginia with rules about Halloween, but come on. Parents say their kids are growing up too fast, so can we please let them trick-or-treat as long as they want to? If they come to the door wearing a costume and are fairly polite, who cares if they’re 14 and it’s 8:15?